Colour me red

Wearing Yardley StayFast Liquid Matte Lip Vinyl in engine red.

Wearing Yardley StayFast Liquid Matte Lip Vinyl in engine red.

While there is an array of lipstick colours available, a dash of red lips will always be original and classic. Women of different shades across the world continue to rock the red lip, with the likes of Taylor Swift adopting it as her signature look. I will have you know that I have never been a fan of red lipstick because it was hard to find the perfect shade of red for my skin tone. I later realized that the problem was not the lip colour, but the wrong selection of the colour for my skin tones. However, in 2014 I discovered MAC Lipstick in Ruby Woo Retro Matte and I absolutely loved it. I believe that there is a red lipstick for every skin tone and the best red lipstick for dark skinned women should complement the skin undertones. Otherwise, the lip colour will just look unflattering. With that said, I believe almost anyone can rock this lipstick.

Positives of Ruby Woo Retro Matte ;
Lasts longer (making it perfect for a long day at work or at the club)
Doesn’t smudge easily
Perfect for almost every shade of skin
It smells yummy

Negatives of Ruby Woo Retro Matte;
Because it is a matte formula it dries out the lips a bit ( you can base your lips with lip balm to prevent this)
The price is a bit steep

Reds for dark skinned women;
Try MAC Lipstick in Ruby Woo Retro Matte available at http://www.maccosmetics.co.za/
MAC Lipstick in Viva Glam 1 Matte available at http://www.maccosmetics.co.za/
Yardley StayFast Liquid Matte Lip Vinyl in engine red available at Clicks ( this works as a perfect dupe for the Mac lipstick in Ruby Woo Retro Matte)

Leave a comment